Navigation on this site is not optimized for your browser

Please use a recent version of Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, Safari or Microsoft Edge to get the most out of the experience.

Find a modern browser
Hero picture

UITP Awards

Recognising efforts to enhance life in urban areas worldwide

Discover the winners of the UITP Awards 2023

UITP Awards 2023

As the coveted prize in public transport, the UITP Awards showcase the most ambitious and innovative projects of the last two years in cities and regions around the globe.

Discover the winners of the seventh edition of UITP Awards below. The winners were announced in a ceremony during the UITP Global Public Transport Summit in Barcelona on 4 June 2023.

To enhance the visibility of projects participating in the UITP Awards 2023, UITP will launch a dedicated Awards publication in the summer.

Key dates for the UITP Awards 2023

  • 13 February

    The submissions process closed


  • February - April 2023

    An independent jury reviewed submissions and selected the winners

  • 4 June 2023

    The winners were announced at the Awards ceremony, held during the UITP Global Public Transport Summit in Barcelona

Discover the winners of UITP Awards 2023

Climate and health 
Diversity and Inclusion
Marketing Campaigns
Multimodal Integration
Operational Excellence
Public and Urban Transport Strategy
Technological Innovation
Young Researchers

Special Recognition

In addition to honouring winners in nine different categories, UITP Awards 2023 is proud to celebrate projects that have achieved exceptional impact within their local communities. These projects, featured below, received a special recognition distinction.

Along with them, the finalists who did not win a UITP Award, were also honored with this accolade.

Special Recognition

Who are the jury members for the UITP Awards 2023?

Abdulaziz Abdulla Malik
Abimbola Akinajo
Carles Casas Esplugas
Rebecca Shliselberg
Ester Litovski
Graham Currie
Hanne Bertnes Norli
Karla González
Martin Kalab
Matt Longland
Michele Dix
Michelle Batsas
Natasha Zulkifli
Ousmane Thiam
Petra Mollet
Sandra Phillips
Shahrin Abdol Salam
Narayankumar Sreekumar
Susana Palomino Bilbao
Tammam Nakkash
Vukan Vuchic

Frequently asked questions

About the UITP Awards

What are the UITP Awards?
What are the Special Recognition Awards?
How long have the Awards been running?
How are winners selected?
What are the criteria used to select a winner?
Who is eligible to make a submission for the UTIP Awards?
What are the different categories?
What are the terms and conditions to make a submission to the UITP Awards?

Submitting your project

When does the platform for submissions open and close?
Can I make a submission if I am a previous winner or finalist?
How many UITP Award submissions can I make?
Is there a submission fee?
What kind of additional supplements can I add?

Next steps for nominees and finalists

When will the nominations be announced?
What is expected of finalists?
Why are finalists expected to be at the Awards ceremony?
If I am a finalist, does the person representing my company have to be someone from the Project Team?

The Awards Ceremony

Where will the UITP Awards ceremony take place?
Who can attend the UITP Awards ceremony?
Will there be a hybrid Awards ceremony?
How much does it cost to attend the Awards ceremony?
I already bought a pass at the regular price and now I found out that I am a finalist and eligible for a discount. Can I get a refund?

Other questions

Where can we find more details on the best projects?
How can my company become a sponsor of the UITP Awards?
Who can I contact for questions related to the UITP Awards?


Discover our
Membership benefits