CIVITAS Awards 2018: Europe's top sustainable mobility prizes are up for grabs

Share & Print:

  • Call

CIVITAS is one of the most successful EU programmes in promoting innovative sustainable development in cities. To motivate, inspire and reward European cities for their clean transport initiatives and practices, CIVITAS presents annual awards. This year’s Awards are offered under four main categories.

In the first category, the “Bold Measure" award rewards a daring approach that has yet to be widely implemented and examples of ambition leading to successful outcomes. Last year, the winner of this award was Bologna (Italy), for their “Bella Mossa” application used to reward citizens with discounts and prizes from local businesses based on their healthy and sustainable transport behaviours.

In the next category, the “Take-Up” award recognises those who have successfully transferred their knowledge and sustainable urban mobility measure(s) to another town/city. Last year’s winner, Murcia (Spain), implemented a whole range of creative measures as part of its ‘Action Plan for the bicycle 2017-2019’ which promoted cycling with new bike lanes, new stations, a new bike-sharing system, and cycling tours.

The third category, the "CIVTAS Legacy" award, rewards a town or city that has translated its commitment to the CIVITAS network and sustainable mobility into high-impact, innovative measures. In the past, the “Award for Technical Innovation” also focused on high-impact, innovative measures. In 2015, this award went to Umea (Sweden), for its impressive ultra-fast charging electric buses.

The final category, the “Transformations” award - given by the CIVITAS Political Advisory Committee - is presented to a town or city that has used mobility measures to transform itself into a smarter and more liveable environment. This is a brand new award category!

The CIVITAS Awards provide a unique platform for towns and cities to demonstrate their pioneering sustainable urban mobility activities. They are an excellent opportunity to increase visibility and credibility of a town or city’s work, and to inspire others to try something similar.

Towns and cities have until 13 July 2018 to submit their applications and have a chance to win one of Europe's most prestigious prizes for clean urban transport.

The Awards are open to all towns and cities that have signed the CIVITAS Declaration and are members of the CIVITAS Forum Network. If your town or city is not yet a Forum member, please complete and sign the CIVITAS Forum Declaration.

All application forms are available on the main CIVITAS Awards page.
Send your application form via email to the CIVITAS Secretariat at the following address, with “CIVITAS Award Category x” placed within the subject of your message:

As is tradition, the prizes will be awarded at the CIVITAS Forum. This year's event is taking place in Umeå, Sweden, from 19 - 21 September 2018.

In the same category

Related content

Share & Print: